The Creative Crew is here!

Standard

The SU Creative Crew is finally HERE!  That’s right, now you can head on over to Splitcoaststampers and view the entire Creative Crew Gallery.

Everyone is also welcome to join in with our challenges.  Although the challenges are only posted on the demo side of Splitcoast, I’ll be sharing them with you here over the next week or so.

I made this yummy, vintage style diary as part of the Designer Series Paper/Colour Focus.  For January this challenge is based on either using the Love Letter DSP or the colour scheme of Basic Black, Very Vanilla and Riding Hood Red.  Since I used only papers which had Black and Vanilla, I decided to add Pretty in Pink Satin ribbon just to be different 🙂

The first time I saw the gorgeous Easter Blossoms stamp set I fell in love with the silhouette image of the little girl.  I don’t make many Easter cards (probably 3 for mum to give to my girls! lol!), but just knew that I NEEDED this image.  There are quite a few ways to ink up this image without the basket – two of which are simple omitting using a marker or masking a section of the stamp when you ink it up (the sticky section of a post it note is great for this).

It does take a little time to mask off, but I have also seen many cards in which the basket has not been omitted and unless you know the set,  you would never think of it as an Easter basket.

I die cut a Top Note from Very Vanilla cardstock and sponged the edges *heavily* with Crumb Cake ink.  The background of my top note is stamped with a floral image from Elements of Style ink Pink Pirouette ink.  I stamped my little girl using Black Stazon, as I have an amazing ability to smudge Basic Black ink hours after I’ve stamped it…

They are a little difficult to see in the photo, but there are four layers of ruffles/scallop edges all cut from the Love Letter Designer Series Paper.  To make this job super simple, I use my Bigz XL Pennant Die.  I just lay all four pieces of DSP onto one of the pennant edges on the die and whizzed it through my Big Shot.  This is soooo much quicker than using a scallop edge punch for every individual piece, and there’s no lining up involved!

Anyway, if you have any questions about this project please feel free to email me.  Otherwise, head on over to Splitcoaststampers and check out our brand new gallery.  The Creative Crew has come up with an amazing assortment of projects, and all you need to do is join in!

REMEMBER: Challenge #1 – Create a project using either the Love Letter Designer Series Paper OR the colour combination of Basic Black, Very Vanilla and Riding Hood Red.

Upload your project to the gallery on Splitcoast and use these keywords ~ CCREW0111DF, CreativeCrew, SUO or SUM. The first keyword is for our Design Focus (which is this one!) and CreativeCrew is what creates our special gallery.  SUO means you have only used Stampin’ Up! products and SUM means Stampin’ Up! Mostly.

Hope to see you over there!


2 responses »

  1. Hi Mel, Your diary is absolutely gorgeous, I love the colours you’ve used (much nicer than having the red in it I think) and the way you’ve stamped the girl. Congratulations on being chosen. I’m looking forward to seeing what else you come up with.

  2. Melissa, it is absolutely beautiful!!!!! I love the vintage look, the colours you have used, everything about it is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

