Fabric Friday: Mini Pencil Case

Standard

Welcome back to Fabric Friday!  This week I am showing you a mini pencil case that I made.  This was totally stressful, the banner last week was a complete piece of cake – this one required me reading a pattern!!!  I’m sure all sewing patterns are written in their own strange language.  I rang mum more than once asking for a translation 🙂  While the end product is far from perfect, and the layout is off-centre, I’m still really happy with it.  And I have at least one child who will be thrilled that I’ve photographed this so she can claim it! lol!

I have used the Sizzlits Little Leaves Die to cut out the teal patterned fabric.  I should stress here that the Sizzlit dies are NOT designed to cut out fabric, and doing so probably voids any warranty on them.  However, as you can see – they do cut through fabric.  I had to trim a couple of threads on the leaves, but nothing too stressful.  The flower is from one of the dies in the Timeless Type Junior Alphabet.  In addition to uppercase & lowercase letters and numbers, this set of dies also has some symbols, hearts and a flower.  Again, these dies are Sizzlits and not designed for fabric.

I have used a couple of Stampin’ Up! buttons as the centre of my flowers, and (attempted to) blanket stitched around the edges of the leaves and flowers.  The pattern I used has some other sizes of a similar design, so I’m sure they will improve as I get back into sewing.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the inspiration and start using your Big Shot for more than cardstock!  There’s lots of fun things you can do with it 🙂

to place an order, click below to email me

Leave a Reply

