Fabric Friday – Emma’s Birthday Banner

Standard

It’s been a *REALLY* long time since I used my sewing machine for fabric.  And we’re probably talking 5 years here, sure it’s been used for sewing cards and scrap pages but they are a little easier to sew.

Recently after visiting several blogs, I decided to purchase the Bigz XL Pennant Die for the Big Shot.  I found several ideas for this die which made it more than worth its price tag in my opinion.  My first project using this die was a pennant banner for Emma’s birthday party.  This is probably the most obvious use for this die, but I figured I was better off starting with something easy!  I ‘borrowed’ some fabric from mum’s collection – on a similar scale to my cardstock and DSP collection 🙂

You just wouldn’t believe how easy this was to make unless you did it yourself!  I cut two pennants at a time, which is 4 layers of fabric (you fold the fabric to create full pennant).  When I cut the warm & natural layer, I cut one pennant at a time because I wasn’t too sure how it would work.  It was perfect!

It was then just a simple matter of sewing the layers together (and I only really stuffed up one pennant!).  I used some 1 1/4″ Pink Pirouette ribbon folded over the top to join the pennants together.

Here’s a close up – please keep in mind it’s been a really long time since I sewed fabric 🙂

If you have any questions about this banner, feel free to ask away.  I hope to show you a different project each Friday using the Big Shot for fabric.

One response »

Leave a Reply

