A birthday gift

Standard

Sorry for the gap between posts.  Late Wednesday night I started on the third book in the Twilight series, sometime after midnight last night I finished the fourth!  Can’t believe I waited so long to start reading this series.

Anyway, I’m back today with a 3d/altered item.  My eldest daughter has a birthday party today, and the 8 year old birthday girl in question apparently loves to draw.  We went off to the shops yesterday afternoon, and came home with some sketch pads, drawing pencils and some coloured Crayola pencils (bargain there 🙂 )

So here’s a pic of the items we purchased:

birthday gift beforeNot particularly exciting to look at are they?

I promised Kim that I’d make them all look pretty cool.  I think she was a bit concerned, because she got up about 3 times after going to bed to check up on what I was doing!

My first task was to cover the notebooks –  I wanted to personalise them.  I knew that Kim would get a kick out of that if someone gave personalised notebooks to her – figured it would work for another girl that age too.

Using some retired Spring Fling Designer Paper (of course, you can easily recreate this look with any current paper.  I’m just trying to use up some of my rather large stash) and matching cardstock, I covered the three sketchbooks.

notebooksAfter I’d covered those, I made up two gift boxes using Mellow Moss cardstock and the Spring Fling paper again.

The first box was for the sketchbooks and drawing pencils, the second smaller one was for the coloured pencils.  I stacked the boxes on top of each other and made a belly band to go around them.  I covered the join in the band with stamped frame (from Frames with a Flourish), which I added the words ‘Wish Big’ to.  It looked a bit boring, so I inked up the cupcake image from Party Hearty using my markers and added that to the frame.

Here’s a pic of the finished set:

box set

Kim has declared the gift ‘spectacular’, and said that she would love to get this.  I hope that the birthday girl enjoys it too!

One response »

Leave a Reply

